Stoner rockers BLACK RAINBOWS share new track “Dogs of War” off upcoming split album with NEBULA; out June 28th on Heavy Psych Sounds

US and Italian stoner rock giants NEBULA and BLACK RAINBOWS are ready to release their exclusive split record “In Search of the Cosmic Tale: Crossing the Galactic Portal Split” on Heavy Psych Sounds tomorrow, and share a brand new single with “Dogs of War”. 

About this new song, Black Rainbows comments: “This song was written when the recent war started, we just imagined how painful it can be to go to war and be on the field as a true dog of war. It’s a slow, heavy ballad which starts with a melodic melancholic guitar arpeggio and sad singing, ending with repetitive heavier riffing, a guitar solo, and another melancholic vocal melody.”

Stream new Black Rainbows track “Dogs of War” at this location

Californian heavy psych rock pioneers NEBULA have recorded three brand new tracks at their home studio in the Joshua Tree desert — which will be the first and final studio recording of the band’s recently departed bassist Ranch Sironi. Italian stoner rock spearhead BLACK RAINBOWS deliver three songs handpicked from the recording session of their acclaimed 2023 album “Superskull”, delivering two in-your-face slabs of heavy fuzz and one spacey song to celebrate this unique collaboration. Packed with 32 minutes of the highest quality heavy rock, “In Search of the Cosmic Tale: Crossing the Galactic Portal Split” is a unique collaboration from two of the international stoner rock scene’s proudest torchbearers.

“In Search of the Cosmic Tale: Crossing the Galactic Portal Split” will be issued in various colored vinyl editions, classic vinyl, CD and digital on Heavy Psych Sounds. Don’t miss the previous singles with Nebula’s “Acid Drop” and Black Rainbows’ “The Secret“.

Nebula & Black Rainbows (split album)
“In Search of the Cosmic Tale: Crossing the Galactic Portal Split”

Out June 28th on Heavy Psych Sounds

Side A – Nebula
1. Acid Drop
2. Eye of the Storm
3. Ceasar XXXIV
Side B – Black Rainbows
1. The Secret
2. Thunder Lights on the Greatest Sky
3. Dogs of War
– Artwork by Simon Berndt –

NEBULA was formed in 1997 by former Fu Manchu members Eddie Glass (guitar and vocals) and Ruben Rumano (drums), quickly joined by bassist Mark Abshire. The power trio specialized in feedback-drenched heavy rock, incorporating liberal doses of Black Sabbath riffery, psychedelia, and space rock. They released several EPs before moving on to full-length albums such as 1999’s ‘To the Center’ and 2001’s ‘Charged’. Nebula creates pure guitar-driven, conscious expanding rock for the 21st century. They are a culmination of their rock forbearers such as Jimi Hendrix, MC5, The Stooges and Mudhoney turned up a notch, taken to the next level and blasting through space. In 2017, Eddie Glass with new members Tom Davies on bass and Michael Amster on drums announced Nebula’s reformation by signing to Heavy Psych Sounds Records for a series of reissues as well as returning to the stage. “Holy Shit”, their first LP since 2009’s cornerstone album “Heavy Psych”, is acclaimed as a “massive return to form” by Metal Hammer Magazine. The band released their latest album ‘Transmission From Mothership Earth” in the summer of 2022, with eight summer feel-good hits that feel “like cruising through a cosmic desert” (Metal Injection).

Nebula lineup & links
Eddie Glass – guitar, vocals, drums
Ranch Sironi – bass, vocals, mix down
Warzone Speedwolf – drums

BLACK RAINBOWS is established among the most revered heavy rock bands of the European scene, spreading the fuzz since 2005. Their sound sits firmly between 90s-style Californian stoner rock, deep-cosmos psychedelia and hard-driving space rock. In 2020, the trio entered the new decade refreshed and with well-earned veteran status resulting from countless tours and festival appearances, tearing roofs off with their unstoppable and infectious rock’n’roll energy. In 2020, they released their eighth album “Cosmic Ritual Supertrip” on Heavy Psych Sounds to great applause from the international rock and metal community, followed by the “Live at Desertfest Belgium” album in 2021 as part of the band’s 15th anniversary. In 2023, they issued with their ninth album “Superskull” and have no intention in slowing down in their heads-down conquest as they are set to embark for a series of European shows and festival appearances this year.

Black Rainbows lineup & links
Gabriele Fiori – guitars and vocals
Edoardo “Mancio” Mancini – bass
Filippo Ragazzoni – drums