Traditional metal stalwarts SULPHUR AND MERCURY have signed to Time To Kill Records for the release of their debut EP “Alchemia Prophetica“, out on April 12th 2024.

SULPHUR AND MERCURY was born from a love of classic heavy metal and doom. The band is embodied by Jason Netherton (Misery Index, Asphalt Graves, ex Dying Fetus) on vocals, Francesco Conte (Spiritual Front, Nero Omega, ex Klimt 1918) on guitar, Marco Mastrobuono (Hour Of Penance, Inno, Buffalo Grillz) on bass and Dario Casabona (Griefbringer, ex Schizo, Sinoath) on drums.

Today, the band shares their first single, “Lightless Slumber“. Watch the video HERE.

SULPHUR AND MERCURY comment: “The song tells the story of a seer who finds the key to opening the ‘gate of lightless slumber’ – an interdimensional portal to otherworldly realms found deep in the ancient Arabian desert. It chronicles his journey through the gate and into the dark realms where old gods sleep and nameless creatures dwell in nameless cities. One of the more melodic songs on the EP, the track evokes the awe and melancholy of the old traveler in his journey across time and space, and ultimately his return home to his own mundane and seemingly meaningless existence“.


1. Presagio del Maligno (introduzione)
2. Invoke the Adversary (Pugnali di Megiddo)
3. Lightless Slumber
4. Venereal Levitation (Voci dall’aria)
5. Entombed in Necrodust
6. Heads Will Roll (Satan cover)


As time-travellers from 1987…SULPHUR AND MERCURY have arrived.

Born in the Cerverteri Necropolis under the blood moon of the Italian summer solstice, SULPHUR AND MERCURY forge haunted dirges of occultic heavy metal from the fires of its glorious past. Elements of Frostian apocalyptic doom are summoned and collide with the melodic instincts of the NWOBHM, manifesting caustic anthems to the arcane arts.

The group came together in 2021, when guitarist Francesco Conte and vocalist Jason Netherton bonded over their shared affinity for the darker incantations of 1980s heavy metal, along the lines of Mercyful Fate, Celtic Frost, Satan and Sabbat (UK). The pair were later joined by drummer Dario Casabona and bassist Marco Mastrobuono, after which they commenced to songwriting and then recording in 2022. Like soothsayers channelling the spirit of ‘87 (a year pivotal for both Conte and Netherton in their metal edification), the band explicitly invoke the ghosts of metal’s past, in order to hammer it into a distinctly modern vision.

The outcome is the 6 track EP “Alchemia Prophetica“. Featuring 4 original songs and a cover of Satan’s demo-era anthem “Heads Will Roll“, the EP stands as an ode to the glory of heavy metal’s yesteryear in the form of haunting anthems to the unknown and otherworldly.


Jason Netherton – Vocals
Francesco Conte – Guitars
Marco Mastrobuono – Bass
Dario Casabona – Drums


Time To Kill Records