Ahead of its release this Friday on the twisted Time To Kill Records roster, Decibel Magazine today presents an exclusive stream of “Alchemia Prophetica”, the merciless debut EP from traditional heavy metal stalwarts SULPHUR AND MERCURY. Stream the EP at THIS LOCATION.

SULPHUR AND MERCURY craft dark heavy metal dirges that summon and reimagine the sepulchral spirit of bands like Mercyful Fate and Celtic Frost. In this sense, “Alchemia Prophetica” acts as a portal into a parallel world of haunted chords and forlorn passages, where molten-melodic riffs burn and black smoke drifts into the midnight air. SULPHUR AND MERCURY‘s aural alchemy is born from this tradition: it invokes and embodies the enduring aura of the 1980s metal-mysterium, when NWOBHM bands like Satan and Venom collided and intersected with the tenebrous tones and paganistic rites of bands like Sabbat (UK) and early Cathedral. The time is nigh and this prophecy is foretold: let the reign of SULPHUR AND MERCURY begin!

SULPHUR AND MERCURY was born from a love of classic heavy metal and doom. The band is embodied by Jason Netherton (Misery Index, Asphalt Graves, ex Dying Fetus) on vocals, Francesco Conte (Spiritual FrontNero Omega, ex Klimt 1918) on guitar, Marco Mastrobuono (Hour Of PenanceInnoBuffalo Grillz) on bass and Dario Casabona (Griefbringer, ex SchizoSinoath) on drums.


1. Presagio del Maligno (introduzione)
2. Invoke the Adversary (Pugnali di Megiddo)
3. Lightless Slumber
4. Venereal Levitation (Voci dall’aria)
5. Entombed in Necrodust
6. Heads Will Roll (Satan cover)




As time-travellers from 1987…SULPHUR AND MERCURY have arrived.

Born in the Cerverteri Necropolis under the blood moon of the Italian summer solstice, SULPHUR AND MERCURY forge haunted dirges of occultic heavy metal from the fires of its glorious past. Elements of Frostian apocalyptic doom are summoned and collide with the melodic instincts of the NWOBHM, manifesting caustic anthems to the arcane arts.

The group came together in 2021, when guitarist Francesco Conte and vocalist Jason Netherton bonded over their shared affinity for the darker incantations of 1980s heavy metal, along the lines of Mercyful Fate, Celtic Frost, Satan and Sabbat (UK). The pair were later joined by drummer Dario Casabona and bassist Marco Mastrobuono, after which they commenced to songwriting and then recording in 2022. Like soothsayers channelling the spirit of ‘87 (a year pivotal for both Conte and Netherton in their metal edification), the band explicitly invoke the ghosts of metal’s past, in order to hammer it into a distinctly modern vision.

The outcome is the 6 track EP “Alchemia Prophetica”. Featuring 4 original songs and a cover of Satan‘s demo-era anthem “Heads Will Roll”, the EP stands as an ode to the glory of heavy metal’s yesteryear in the form of haunting anthems to the unknown and otherworldly.


Jason Netherton – Vocals
Francesco Conte – Guitars
Marco Mastrobuono – Bass
Dario Casabona – Drums





Time To Kill Records